ionanax.blogg.se

Story of your life ted chiang analysis
Story of your life ted chiang analysis








Its major themes are language and determinism. " Story of Your Life" is a science fiction novella by American writer Ted Chiang, first published in Starlight 2 in 1998, and in 2002 in Chiang's collection of short stories, Stories of Your Life and Others. With the quality of the works being ignored, both authors seem to agree that the main goal of hard science fiction is “not to make any errors” (Westfahl 162) in regards to the scientific fact, or as Samuelson describes it as science fiction in which “scientific theories and technological applications get a significant share of attention” (Samuelson 145).Illustration for "Story of Your Life" by Hidenori Watanabe for S-F Magazine Samuelson counters this by mentioning how some literary critics say the term hard science fiction “derives the label from ‘hard to read,’ because it is badly written” (Samuelson 145). First, he concluded that “the term probably stems from the expression ‘hard science,’” but also mentioned that it could also mean that these types of factual stories filled with scientific detail, “were difficult to read, especially for readers who lacked a background in science” (Westfahl 160). In Gary Westfahl’s article “’The Closely Reasoned Technological Story’: The Critical History of Hard Science Fiction” for Science Fiction Studies, he examines this difference as well as some other sub-categories. Since the third critical reading was shared on Canvas discussion section, I found that there were other sources posted by other classmates were also useful to my paper, and therefore I obtained more new By doing so, I was not limited to the surface meaning of each claim but thought the implied meaning behind the story to develop a more in-depth analysis. The third critical reading “Source Mining & Sharing” helped me a lot by finding and integrating outside sources and writing annotation for each one. It is also worth mentioning that these three claims are not unrelated but have an internal connection, which means that there is a …show more content… After reading many science fiction stories such as Story of Your Life, Understand, Division by Zero, I paid attention to the use of logos and pathos throughout the description, which inspired me to talk about how logos and pathos were expressed in the stories and what the central ideas those strategies intended to deliver. By combining the process of revising the thesis statement with developing my body paragraphs, my final thesis statement concludes every claims in each paragraphs, “In Story of Your Life, the author Ted Chiang utilizes logos and pathos to emphasize that science fiction not only tells an imaginary story, but also introduces a different thinking model and interconnects science genre with philosophy”. Noticing that the first thesis did not point out the actual purpose of Chiang’s strategies using, I listed an outline of my paper and then considered how logos and pathos expressed and in the story and what the purposes of the two writing techniques. My first thesis is “In Story of Your Life, the author Ted Chiang uses logos, pathos and ethos to tell a science story and tries to teaches the readers some lessons”. Through the discussion with peers, I decided to only write the logos and pathos strategies, and thus my thesis statement became more specific and clear. However, writing three strategies is a tough process, and especially I could not find enough evidence to support the “ethos” part. The rhetorical analysis essay encouraged me to read more …show more content… The rough draft of my RA mainly discussed three rhetorical strategies in Chiang’s literature, including logos, pathos and ethos. Although I fell into a swirl of confusion at the first five weeks, my hard work, together with the help from assignment, helped me organize the thought and methodically finished my rhetorical analysis.

STORY OF YOUR LIFE TED CHIANG ANALYSIS MOVIE

After reading Ted Chiang’s science fiction stories and watching the movie Story of Your Life, I found that science fiction doesn’t merely tell an unrealistic story, but aims to introduce new ideas and raise philosophy problems to the audience. At the beginning of this quarter, I was worried about writing because I was not familiar with science fiction. Show More Writing 39B has been a great experience and the first five weeks of the course help me be a better reader, writer and critical thinker.








Story of your life ted chiang analysis